Photobucket
2010-11-05 - 10:59 p.m.

When I was younger, so much younger than today dododododo

When I was younger I would read books, read stories, anything, about lonely, bachelor, widowed, divorced, single men and always they would include this scene where the man ate his dinner over the sink.

I always thought that that written scene was ridiculous. I always thought really, over the sink? I thought it was one of those over written things.

I also think authors over use "drummed his/her fingers." Watch, next time you read something, watch how many times it's used.

I digress.

I think my issue was I never had a sink that faced anything. The sink in my parents house I was too little to look out of the window. The sink in all of my apartments generally face a wall.

But now, for the first time in my adult life, I'm living by myself. And now, for the first time in my adult life, I have sink that faces the bar that faces the living room that faces the television set.

So I have found myself eating over the sink. Not giant meals, or anything I've spent much time cooking.

Just things where I've either only eaten to have something in my stomach (because of time, because of depression, because of anger, because of ). Sandwiches. Soup. What have you.

And the first time I found myself doing this was... sad and funny at the same time. This cliche I always hated in pieces of writing I was living.

So I've made it a point to actually try to move out of the kitchen when I eat. I sit on the sofa, watch the latest Netflix (no cable because I'm working on getting rid of the last bits of debt so I don't have to worry about a job and also, eventually, buy a house) or Hulu or whatever. Or I move to my ever standing ironing board and eat on that as a table. I don't have room for a kitchen table and the kitchen table I do have is in my bedroom as a desk. That never gets used.

I'm turning more and more into a cliche every day, so I'm going to fight it by resorting to eating cookies bed and gorging myself on Gushers and staying up way too late.

Also I have started cutting coupons and planning out my grocery shopping. I've gotten super amazing at it and my last trip I bought roughly 50 dollars of food and spent 12. I'm amazing, yo.

Amazing and so, so sad.... ha.

previous - next