Photobucket
2010-05-26 - 7:52 p.m.

Today is my birthday.

I imagine, in a million other worlds, we worked out and you are still with me. I imagine that somewhere, out of those millions and millions of worlds I said the right thing and you said the right thing and I had courage and you had faith and we are together.

I imagine somewhere some version of me has just had the best birthday ever with some version of you. A day at the pool, a cook out with your parents and my parents, together, sun and heat and beautiful food and I know that, in that other world, you are still the most beautiful girl I've ever seen.

I know that as my parents laugh and your parents tell a story my eyes find yours and you smile.

I know that, as the sun sets, there is a storm that moves in and we go back to our house. The dog is left in the screened in porch, the porch that we screened in together, me angry and cursing and you the only girl who has ever been able to deal with me in that state.

Tonight we will sleep together, in that other world, your body moving toward mine, your heat, your smell, your god damn smile wrapping me up completely until I am spent and am liquid.

There are other worlds with other girls and other birthdays. There are other dogs and other sex and other smiles.

But just knowing that world might exist makes me happy.

previous - next