Photobucket
2010-02-15 - 5:39 a.m.

This is for real me. Also for real me after I've been drinking.

Thing is, I know you're out there. I can feel you out there. I go to sleep and I can feel you in the bed with me. I get sick and I can feel your hands in my hair calming me.

It's what gets me through the day. It's what gets me through all this bullshit.

The idea that you're out there, waiting for me. The idea that you're that bartender who tracks me down and shakes my hand, or that waitress that shuts my friend down quickly, or that girl who likes my shirt at the bookstore.

The idea that we'll have dinner and I'll be nervous and clumsy and make you laugh and you'll have eyes that light up and eventually, further on, wind up in bed together and your hips will be amazing and your breath will be on my neck.

I know you're there and I know you're worth the wait. I've gotten more patient as the years have gone by, but I'm really tired of waiting.

I'd like you here, now, please.

But until then, I know you're there. I know it because when I turn this computer off and roll over in my bed and start to relax I'll feel you slide in next to me, your back pressing into my chest, your hand on mine.

You're there. I know you are.

Just come home, dammit. Come home.

previous - next