Photobucket
2007-12-08 - 1:03 p.m.

I want to give yall an example of what my day at work is like:

2 p.m. roll call. Sometimes I conduct roll call. Sometimes I don't.

2:15 p.m. to 2:45 p.m. school movement. I am in charge of moving 130 teenage boys quietly through the school.

2:45 p.m. to 4:27 p.m. I am typing papers for my boss (papers that include anything from oral warnings to recommendations for termination to a memo on how to dispose of razors properly), I am holding grievance hearings for the students, I am in meetings with management about what child needs to be moved off my dorm and what this shift isn't doing and diabetes awareness. Sometimes I get a chance to actually break away and go to my building.

If I'm at my building this is what I'm doing: I'm handing out supplies to the students. I'm talking to them about their problems. They're showing me their latest accomplishment (I have four kids graduating Friday). I'm handling alleged sexual harassment from my one kid who has two attempted murder charges and at least six sexual abuse of a minor charges. I'm training new officers.

4:27 p.m. until 6:08 p.m. I am conducting dinner movement. I'm making sure 130 teenage boys eat. Quietly. Without fighting. Or cursing.

6:08 p.m. until 10 p.m. I'm doing more paperwork. I'm writing up who got placed in what cell for what reason. I'm responding to security calls. I'm going to my building to hand out supplies and talk to my students. I'm tracking down officers who aren't doing their jobs.

Today it'll run pretty much like that, minus the school movement. What will be in place of the school movement will be a special program that's taking place that I'll have to coordinate. 50 to 70 students in a tiny place listening to gospel.

I have fun most days.

previous - next