Photobucket
2007-12-12 - 1:23 a.m.

I love working with the kids.

You would think, looking at them and knowing what their history is, that we would have nothing in common. That there's nothing I could tell them or do for them.

What do you say to a 14 year old boy who has two attempted murder charges on him, you know?

You've got those kids who were raised in a gang. Their dad was this gang and their granddad was too and that's all they know, just the streets and thinking that easy money is the only way.

What I've realized, and this isn't a brilliant discovery or life changing and will not be in a book entitled "Who Stole My Cheese? He Did, But It's Ok, You're Ok!"

I got all kinds of distracted there.

What I've realized is that if you're honest with the kids and tell them they're doing something good, then you'll be okay.

And once you've established that connection with them you can have all kinds of fun.

I have to go. Tomorrow I'll talk about some of my favorite conversations.



previous - next