Photobucket
2006-02-14 - 9:26 p.m.

It's Valentine's Day.


Which route will this entry go? Will I be bitter? Or will I be the not-so-closet romantic?


I really don't know.

There are incredible women out there. Funny, cute, intelligent, artistic women who make me smile. So there's hope for Valentine's Day, and whatever it is supposed to mean.


But therin, I guess, lies everything. What the hell is Valentine's supposed to mean? It has to be more than just some huge gesture to show her or him how much they mean to you. It can't just be that I can come up with the most perfect date ever and I have someone to share it with.

It's that raised expectation that messes everything up. No, I shouldn't need a special day to tell you I love you, but there it is, for the entire world, for people to get together and compare how much of an asshole their boyfriend was, what a weird gift your girlfriend got you.

But when you're with someone, or when I'm with someone, it's kind of fun, trying to figure out the perfect thing to make her lose her breath. The right food and the right place, the right flower. The right words on a home made card.

What it comes down to, in this hit or miss entry, is that yeah, I haven't given up on it.

previous - next