Photobucket
2006-01-29 - 12:22 a.m.

Once upon a time I got caught out on the edge of a creek in a heavy downpour.
I was with someone.
We sat there, under this overhang, listening to the rain hit the leaves above us, watching the circles the drops made in the creek.
Where we were sitting was just wide enough to stretch out fully without putting your feet in the creek or your head where the bank rose sharply, almost vertically.
She was sitting to the right of me, her legs crossed, kind of hunched forward a little, with a tiny stick in her hand. She was using it to dig into the soft sand between us.
I was leaning back, on my elbows, feeling little pebbles push themselves into my skin. My feet were crossed at the ankles and I watched her.
All I could see was her profile. The length and breadth of her back.
We talked but I can't remember now about what. I just remember the conversation was easy. It could've lasted a lot longer than it did.
The rain let up and the sun came out and we figured it would probably be best to leave, then, before another downpour came, maybe something harder, maybe something that wouldn't end and would leave us, stuck, on the edge of this creek.
She really was beautiful that day.

previous - next