Photobucket
2002-05-03 - 8:53 a.m.

i really wish i knew how to dance.

i can picture it. all the steps, and where to put my hands, and how i'd look in your eyes.

but somewhere between the mind and the feet, the moves get lost. mistranslated into awkward steps to my left and right.

but this is how it is, in my mind:

my right hand grabs your left. as i pull you towards me, i rotate my wrist so my fingers are alongside the part of your hand leading to your pinkie.

you're there, standing against me. my left hand in the small of your back.

i can feel the smile on my face, and the chuckle that's always there when im with you in the back of my mouth.

i can see the way you would be looking at me. how the little light streaming through the bedroom window would be caught and reflected.

how open and honest and trusting you are of me. and my heart would break a couple of times.

and we would dance.

maybe not to any music.

maybe, after a bit, i would start to ham it up some, and begin singing.

heaven. im in heaven.

and i seem to find the happiness that i seek when we're out together dancing, cheek to cheek.

but then again, im a dreamer.

and i would probably pull you close and then step on your feet.

ah well.

dreams never hurt a soul. or a sole.

not yet, at least.

yall, have a good day for me.

especially you with the barefeet.

previous - next