Photobucket
10-24-01 - 12 06 am

there are times i am with you and i can understand why artists and poets paint and write the things they do.

you're so beautiful that when the light hits you a certain way, when you smile that huge smile you have, when you laugh, all i want to do is capture that moment forever.

i want to be a painter, so i can capture it that way.

i want to be a writer, so i can capture it that way.

i want to capture it.

i want to convey to everyone else what i feel in those moments. i want them to know the things i cant express.

you place your head on my chest and listen to my heartbeats. and i run my fingers through your hair, clearing your forehead so i can kiss the bridge above your eyebrows.

you arm, it fits against my stomach and comes to rest serenly along my side, bookended by my expanding rib cage and relaxed arm.

and i walk, now, and wonder why you aren't with me tonight. i wonder why you aren't asleep, curled on your side, in my bed tonight. why i cant feel your warmth, which is so much more encompassing than a blanket, surround me like a cucoon i willingly accept.

i miss you. in other words.



previous - next