Photobucket
5-22-01 - 7 22 pm

the night before i finished moving i made them wait by the car.

i had to come inside, alone, to say goodbye to you.

there was very little said, but i'm not sure really what i expected.

a hug, at the least.

i thought maybe i would have to bring the subject up. say, you know i'm not leaving without a hug. and you would smile and stand up, walk across the room to me, and hug me.

arms around my shoulders, always. so that my arms went under your arms. and brought you in. your head buried in my neck and all i can recognize is your warmth pressed into me and your smell, which i hope will be stronger than honeysuckle at 4 in the morning one day, making me hold on a second longer than i normally would.

you pulled away and i let you. letting you slide back a step or two as my hand slid down your back and rested on your hip, then take flight.

we said bye, and i left.

but now, now i think i know what i should have said. i should have looked you in the eye (eyes. plural. you have two. two beautiful eyes.) and said:

every night when we say goodbye how can i help looking in your eyes, wondering why you and i havent hit it can we get it on?

i cant pretend that you're only my friend when you're holding my body tight. cause i like the way youre making it move, i like the way you're making me wait. at the end of the night when i make up your mind, you'll be coming on home with me.

is what i should have said.

heh.

previous - next