Photobucket
2-17-01 - 2 15 am

i have decided i am puff the magic dragon.

i shall back my thesis up with quotable proof, like i was taught in high school. and i shall disect lines.

by the by, i once wrote a paper, junior year, that took the hero of the book and proved he was evil. i entitled the paper "propoganda" and told i had balls for doing that.

got a high b.

"puff the magic dragon." right there, its me. im a dragon. a mythical creature-- people tend to make me bigger than i really am-- who is thought as of violent/fierce, when in actuality they're just misunderstood by humans.

"and frolicked in the autumn mist." i love autumn. i love frolicking. hell, im frolicking right now.

"little jackie paper loved that rascal puff." here is where i start massaging the lyrics. substitute the girl for jackie paper. and i am a rascal.

heh.

"and brought him strings and sealing wax and other fancy things." its the little things that have meant the most to me, the little gifts shes given that no one else would see anything in, but that are special.

"together they would travel on boat with billowed sail. jackie kept a lookout perched on puff's gigantic tail." we travel together, the girl and i. i would hold her up for however long as she needed me to. she's the one who's there for me, telling me what i need to hear, helping me find my way.

"pirate ships would lower their flag when puff roared out his name." its one of my nearly crazy beliefs that i am powerful and magicial. that i can create safe havens.

now it turns sad.

"dragons live forever, but not so for little boys. painted wings and giant rings make way for other things." i am eternal. what is in me, the love for her, the love for everything, is eternal. little boys, jackie, is actually the girl, remember. she will move on, has moved on. the things we created together, that special world we have, is only a stepping stone for her to move onto even greater realms.

"one grey night it happened, jackie paper came no more and puff, that mighty dragon, ceased his fearless roar." i would like to take this moment to point out something i should've noted earlier. jackie's last name is paper. i'm a "writer", depending on who you ask. its a part of me. paper. make the connection?

but, yes, one night it did happen. the girl told me she thought we shouldnt talk. i dont think i'll ever recover from that.

"puff no longer went to play along that cherry lane. without his life long friend, puff could not be brave. so puff the mighty dragon sadly slipped into his cave." without her in my life, yeah, im not as strong as i can be. she gives me more backbone than she'll ever realize. sadly slipping into my cave can mean that i sadly slipped into darkness, or depression. which was, is true.

so i am puff the magic dragon.

previous - next