Photobucket
2011-02-21 - 1:04 a.m.

So here's the thing:

When I was a wee, little, tiny Crayon I was never good with patience. Couldn't wait, always ready to move to the next thing... my parents still tell stories about how when I was just a tot and anyone would say "well, I'm going now." I would jump up and be at the door waiting to leave with them.

But now I'm still wee, little, tiny, but I'm a bit older. And I still get impatient, and I still want to move on to the next thing, but I'm comfortable with this whole waiting thing because I know that every day that goes by is another day closer to...

Okay. This is where I get sappy.

The one thing I've always known about myself is that I'm meant to be in a relationship. I'm meant to be committed to someone for life. That is what I'm good for.

And I know that somewhere there's this completely amazing girl who's perfect. A girl with bare feet and a cotton dress. A girl who slow dances with lightning bugs. A girl who curses and is as competitive as I am and can beat me. A girl who is smart and funny and makes me feel like I'm seven all over again. A girl who can make me believe in magic again.

She's out there, and I know one day I'll have her (if I'm not too stupid) and all this time, all these other girls, all this hurt and confusion and anger and quiet nights on my own and swinging on the swings at the playground and long walks with my dog, all of it is leading, will lead to the day I completely trust her.

To the day that I'm standing there, watching her walk to me, wanting to run to her, wanting to learn to breathe again, watching her walk in that white dress, feeling my throat swell up and close on me.

I've never told anyone this but I think that she'll be walking to me to Israel Kamakawiwo'ole's Somewhere Over The Rainbow.

The thing I'm trying to say is that knowing that this is going to happen, sooner or later, knowing that each day gets me a little more closer to it, is finally making me patient. It's finally making me relax and really enjoy this life I'm living right now because it's slowly, surely, bringing me to her.

What a wonderful world.

previous - next