Photobucket
7-31-03 - 11 06 pm

i called emily tonight, for the second time today, and told her that i needed to see her.

what i didnt tell her was that i needed to see her because she's the one uncomplicated thing in my life right now.

all the emotions tied into her are honest and straight-forward.

i like her.

she makes me happy.

she's there for me.

she looks out for me.

there is no bitterness tied into our relationship, into our friendship.

no hurt feelings, no miscommunicated anger.

i went out to the country, today, to see family.

there were the two youngest cousins of the bunch there, for a little bit.

one was 5, the other 6.

i messed around with them, for a bit.

the 5 year old was outside sulking when i came in, so i sat next to him as my dad came in.

instead of saying anything, i just reached over and tickled his stomach until he started laughing and told me to stop.

later, when i was reading the paper, he came up to me and said "bread."

and held up a hot dog bun.

then he broke it in half and said "now i have two. hahaha!"

and ran away.

i love my family.

especially the little cousins.

the 5 year old sat next to me, later, for a moment.

i said "so how old are you now? ten? twenty?"

"no. i'm five."

"wow. you're getting old."

"yeah. i'm already in kindergarten."

and we sat there, together, silently musing on his rapid aging and my, how the time goes by so quickly, youth is wasted on the young, those preschoolers.

damn them and their ignorance.

their bliss, if you will.

but now i need to go, need to check the laundry and eat some and read a little more.

yall have a good day.



previous - next