Photobucket
10-31-01 - 4 50 am

one of my biggest... not regrets, but something that deep down upsets me slightly because i havent accomplished it, nor does it look like i will anytime soon... is that i havent written a real love poem.

i dont think i can.

i want to. i've tried.

i've tried writing down how her hair, slowly moving across the center of my palm, how it makes me feel.

and how, when she talks and smiles as she talks, these two little half dimples form around her mouth that just make me want to kiss her.

how angry it makes me that i won't be able to father her children (been told to me it's pretty much medically impossible, but i still hold out hope),

im fairly decent with words on paper, on the screen. i can hunt them down, pin them in, walk away.

but not with love poems.

i'm not much of a talker. i stutter, fumble around, mumble.

the closest i've ever gotten to love poems, though, has been through my speech.

here, i say.

here, putting her hand in the center of my chest.

here is where the happiness starts that you create in me.

moving her hand so it points at me, moving her finger so it's a little left of the breastbone, inbetween ribs.

here.

not my heart, but this other space. much more vaster, deeper, than my heart could ever be.

previous - next