Photobucket
3-26-02 - 10 03 am

i love my friends.

i love them so much, i let them paint my fingernails last night.

and not just any color, oh no.

not hooker red even.

but a nice metallic purple.

they said, oddly, that it fit me. they said it fit me because it didn't fit me.

i told them of how people told me i should get my tongue pierced.

sheryl looked at me and said she couldn't see it. but the more she looked, the more she saw it, till finally she said yes. i should get my tongue pierced.

i probably wont.

maybe.

eh, it's a damn possiblity, alright?

oh, also, this morning i woke up early because, in the bathroom, someone was blowing their nose REALLY LOUDLY.

and it sounded like they were doing laundry in the toilet.

i dont know if they were. i didnt ask. i just laid in bed, then went back to sleep.

tennessee is facing some serious budget cuts right now.

the state needs an income tax. or a lottery, as much as i am against the lottery.

but what really needs to happen is for the people, and not just the voters, but everyone in tennessee, students, children, seniors, to realize the extent of how shitty tennessee is becoming.

i love tennessee. i love the land.

but it's 49th in education. 49th. out of 50. we fight with mississippi, year after year, for 49th. WEST VIRGINIA is better educated than tennessee.

and you know why this is?

tennessee has no revenue to put into education. none.

we're cutting our higher education.

we're cutting our lower education 80 percent.

there was a time where i wanted to teach. hell, i still do.

and in the heat of the moment i say i will not teach in tennessee, i will not allow my kids to be educated within a state that does nothing for them.

yet my leaving wouldnt help. if i ever become a teacher, yes, i will stay in tennessee.

but if i do have kids, they won't be educated here.

not unless something changes.

not unless we dedicate more money to education.

and we won't be able to until we get a state income tax.

i talk to a lot of people. they all say they would happily pay an income tax if they knew the money would go to education.

and not an arena, and not a football team, and not a sports team, and not imprinting logos in the street for 80,000 dollars.

our priorities here are fucked up.

things need to change.

also:

i got capri sun on my back sunday. i shall tell yall how later.

previous - next