Photobucket
9-12-01 - 4 46 pm

it's hard to come back here and try to write.

i don't know where to begin to say everything or anything that needs to be said.

i don't know what needs to be said.

a quote:

"If I treat my neighbor's pain and grief as foreign, I will end up suffering when my neighbor's pain and grief curdles into rage. But if I realize that the walls between us are full of holes, I can reach through them in compassion and connection. Suspicion about the perpetrators of this act of infamy has fallen upon some groups that espouse a tortured version of Islam. Whether or not this turns out to be so, America must open its heart and mind to the pain and grief of those in the Arab and Muslim worlds who feel excluded, denied, unheard, disempowered, defeated. This does not mean ignoring or forgiving whoever wroght such bloodiness. Their violence must be halted, their rage must be clamed--and the pain behind them must be heard and addressed." --Rabbi Arthur Waskow

don't forget.

but also remember.

previous - next