Photobucket
8-31-00 - 10 45 pm

i love the way you get more into the music than the movie.

i love the way you say kung PAO chicken. overstressing the pao.

i love the way you've started calling me an ass when i get all sassy and big ego-ed on you.

i love the way you worry about me and make me promise to go to the doctor.

i love the way you know i wont break a promise to you.

i love the way your eyes light up when my accent comes out strong like. i reckon.

i love the way you take my money away and throw it behind us so you can be the one to pay.

i love the way you bow your head when you play the piano.

i love the way you'll stand next to me in line and then, out of the blue, pretend youre going to kick my knee.

i love the way you smell when you come out of the shower.

and now you're in boston.

moving on.

ah. i was, earlier, before work (which is a story in and of itself), over by the sink brushing my teeth and what not.

contrary to popular belief, i am a clean person.

aint no one called me scruffy in a long time.

but, yes, i was over there and then i dunno how this happened i slammed my left elbow on the toothbrush holder thing.

and although the face i made i saw reflected back to me was amusing, the fact that... more than seven hours later it still aches slightly isnt.

they say its slightly swollen.

whether or not we can believe "them", who knows.

work. yes. i show up early. making good impressions and what not.

so im there and i sit down by the lady who's supervising me and shes all "well. ive got nothing for you to do. do you have a book?"

and i did, i did have a book!

so i pulled it out and started reading it.

she gets up and leave. the phone starts ringing.

now, no one's showed me shit.. uhm, diddly squat, for you more innocent readers... about the job. so i dont know how to answer the phone.

no, i know how to, i know you pick it up.

duh.

but, no, i didnt know the greeting i was sposed to say, or how to direct calls and to whom. so i sat there.

another person came by and picked the phone up, answered. left.

the phone rings again.

same person comes by and picks the phone up. looks at me.

"do you need help?"

"nah, im sposed to be working here, todays my first day, and no one's showed me anything."

said, of course, in a sleepy southern accent that makes her fall head over heals in love with me, which is why she said:

"oh. hi, i'm jennifer."

ok, that's a lie. she actually said "hey, well, i'm jennifer."

heh.

whoo.

yeah. yall know it aint true, the head over heals part.

but yes, she introduces herself.

"crayon. nice to meet you."

course i didnt say that. i usually dont introduce myself as crayon.

usually.

"to pick up the line you hit blahblah 4 and say 'blahblahblah, crayon speaking, how may i help you?'"

i nod my head. it was the nod of absorption.

which is why i say blahblahblah now. moving forward:

"and then you ask if you can take a message. and you take a message."

and then my supervisor lady came and jennifer left.

"well, since there's nothing to do today, not really, why dont you leave?"

"what? really?"

"yeah."

and she put me down as having worked my entire shift.

sleepy southern accent gets em everytime.

previous - next