Photobucket
8-10-00 - 4 42 pm

in my dream i single handedly reformed the production line.

apparentally the dream was set way back in time and my fellow workers had to put up with jars that werent all the same size and shape and boxes that werent the... same... size... and shape... and they had to work seven days a week.

but they got to eat corn right there as they worked.

cmon now, how good would that be?

to be able to just lean over and eat a forkful of sweetened corn once or twice a day?

so, yeah, i told them i said to them i said "give me five days and ill change everything!"

and they all cheered.

cept for the girl sitting next to me.

heh, man, you're just so screwed if you dont like listening to other people's dreams. i've decided i'm going to share this one with you.

or parts of it.

there was some stuff before what i'm going to lead off with, basically some guy stole my car and in my car was my grover which pissed the hell out of me, i just wanted my grover back. and the house i grew up in, in the dream, was a ram shackle barn that looked like it was about to fall over. it was a repair shop for motorcycles.

and some other crap happened and there was a field of corn stretching out behind this house and at the edge of the field of corn was an old water tower that had been drained and had two openings and i could see up there.

the bottom was covered in hay and there was a quilt on top of it.

i was on the quilt then.

had this little toy i was playing with, this little... helicopter like thing i would shoot off and watch fall to the ground. i looked off to the side and this girl (the one from earlier) was coming up to the water tower with her parents.

see, i was actually on their land. they let me stay around cause of my charm, of course.

and because i was incredibly in love with this girl. and the parents felt sort of sorry for me.

see, the girl had plans to travel to europe come the summer and leave me behind, which was killing me.

everyone, including me, thought the girl loved me, but she tried to play it off like i was just... someone who hung out in her parents water tower...

so she climbed up into the water tower, i had jumped down to greet them, and i was climbing up the ladder the back way while she climbed it up the front way and there was a conversation about whether or not she was wearing sunscreen, she said she wouldnt need to in europe, just to hurt me a little you see and i was all sad and climbed back down and I AM SUCH A DORK.

just to clarify that up. im listening to myself as i type and damn.

so yeah, then her father started climbing up to talk to her before he went in for the night and he started trying to make the girl realize im not half bad.

there's nothing like having a father trying to hook you up yo.

soooo the next day was when the production line came up.

we were... putting jars in boxes.

the girl's sitting across from me.

then i start writing complaints across the back of envelope i just happened to have and the girl... i dont know what she had, maybe it was dentures, maybe it was just a soggy already eaten cob of corn, but she leaned over and put it in my hand.

you see, to gross me out.

but i kept eye contact with her and didnt flinch.

so she stood up, came around, tried rubbing it on my arm to gross me out, didnt work, i caught her hand, rubbed her arm, never broke eye contact.

and something happened then.

she knew i loved her and i knew she felt... something...

so she left.

i went back to putting jars in boxes, then she came back with a plate of corn for me. sat down next to me.

and i was touched.

the corn was good, too.

now i'm all telling back what needs to change about the production line and all the old country men and women have gathered around being all "things have got to change!" so i say "we'll need a backer"

just because those sound like the right words to say.

and this strange man who's new to our little town says "well, as long as blahblah's involved, well, i'll always back her with anything. count me in"

and i've seriously banged my head against my seat. see, blahblah's the girl's name, but i can't remember it now. as soon as he started talking i knew where he was going so i had slipped out of my bench seat and banged my head against the bench.

the more i write this up, the more i realize this sounds like a really unfunny hee haw episode.

but the girl, she slid her hand over and patted my head so i knew... and i got back up.

i was listening to all the old people go "well son what's your name? "sloan" "sloan, why, we could blahblahblahblah billboards with sloan blahblahblah"

i stand back up and go "give me five days and ill change everything!"

and i swear to you there was cheering and hats thrown.

i get up to leave and im walking away and the girl is on my back, holding on. i walk down the steps out to the grass and i walk a good distance away so people can't hear and i turn her around, she's clamped on to me, i sit her on a bench thats just out in the middle of the grass and ask her what's the matter.

then i wake up.

damn.

a really bad hee haw episode.



previous - next