Photobucket
2007-10-05 - 12:23 p.m.

So Thursday night, as Kelly and I slept, someone decided to break into our apartment.

They went through the patio door, which caused a lot of noise (glass breaking, blinds moving, etc) and woke us up.

And scared the hell out of us.

The guy ran, the cops came, they think they know who did it, I'm just waiting to hear back before I post any more information on the guy.

But god damn, it was scary. One of the scariest things ever, actually. I usually don't have my cell phone on me, at night, and we don't have a house phone, so any other night I wouldn't have been able to call 911.

And we don't have any weapons in the back bedroom. I mean, no weapons other than my laser fists of fire!

We're not getting a gun, or anything like that, but I am making sure I have a bat back there, or a broken off chair leg. Just in case.

After the police left, Kelly and I were sitting on the couch talking. I think she now understands why I have so many fucking contingency plans. I'm always asking crazy hypotheticals.

Asking stuff like "what would you do if a zombie came in through that window?"

Talking about it gives you some kind of layout in your head what you would do in the actual event. You'll freak out and be scared, but somewhere inside you've got a plan and your body will start it while your mind catches up.

So if a lesson is to be learned from all this, it is this:

Please discuss with your families what to do in the case of a zombie attack.

It could happen to any of us.

previous - next