Photobucket
12-04-06 - 12:57 pm

For the second time in two weeks I've had a flat. And not just a oops-kind-of-let-me-just-patch-that-up flat, but one where my tire has either exploded from my hotness or one where my tire has imploded because there is a mysterious black hole that travels right beneath my back left tire.
I've had to take the back roads to work because of this, because I refuse to get up early on work days to get a new tire. And because of taking the back roads two weeks in a row, getting lost, finding my way, getting lost some more, I've realized, even more, that I love where I live.
I miss parts of Birmingham. I miss some of the people (the non druggies). But if for some reason I had stayed with Amy, I would have wound up in some subdivision in some suburb with no lawn and no place to play hide and seek.
But I'm here, back here, in a different area of town, in the middle of nowhere. And there is land and a creek and broken down garbage trucks and it's almost exactly like the place I wanted when I was little.
Trees to climb. Trees I have climbed. Deer and turkey and owls. A pond behind us. Clear skies and stars everywhere.
In other words wee.

previous - next