Photobucket
2006-09-25 - 5:33 p.m.

My internet is slowly getting better, which means, hopefully, I can slowly get back to writing here.
Because, believe it or not, I do miss this place. I miss just typing shit for myself. Other places I write I write for an audience, which twists the words some, make the flow come differently.

I haven't talked about work much here, I think, so it might just be about time.

I work in what they call a "youth development center". It's a kind of kid-jail for boys from the ages of 13-19 who have committed 3 or more felonies.
The place is separated into halls, 10 halls total, 12 kids in each hall.
I've got my own hall. 12 boys ranging from 15 to 18. They're in their for aggravated robbery, assaulting a police officer, drug charges, violating probation.
I've worked with 14 year olds charged with attempted homicide, with homicide.
I've had to chain a small boy to a hospital bed after a surgery.

It's nothing like I would have imagined me doing, nothing like when I was a ten year old kid growing up next to honeysuckles and a black dog that I dreamed of doing.

I couldn't be a stunt person, so this might as well be what I do.

And the thing is, I'm good at it. Damn good. And I'm making a difference with some of them, I can tell.

I might be promoted soon, so I will no longer be Officer Crayon, I will be Corporal Crayon.

previous - next