Photobucket
2006-07-17 - 3:49 p.m.

It's been a while. I've been busy plus the fact I can't get an internet connection unless I go to Krystals equals never online ever, as frustrating as it is.


Things are pretty great. I'm really good at my job, better than I thought I'd be. I've got 12 boys under my supervision at any one time and, for the most part, they don't give me a hard time. I've had a remote thrown at me, been cussed out, the normal. Nothing, and no one, has hit me yet, so I've got that going for me.

And then, for the large part, there is Kelly. Coming up on five months. She's about everything I could have asked for in a girl. She's got the best sense of humor ever, and thinks I do, too. She's thoughtful and kind and smart and geeks out over the best things ever. She cooks brownies for me.

Oh, a brownie story: I decided to make the brownies last week, and we were in the kitchen talking and it was late and I poured the batter into the pan and stuck the pan in the oven and she said, "Hey, why is the apple juice open?"
She had just bought some apple juice and was wondering if I already had a drink.

We both looked at it. And at the same time we realized that instead of putting oil in the batter, I put apple juice.

And she's still making fun of me for that.


I cook for her, on a regular basis. Casseroles and hamburgers and steaks. Side dishes, whatever she asks. She thinks I'm an incredible cook. I'm not, but it's good for the ego.

I live in a place I couldn't have dreamed up if I tried. It's on top of a holler with a creek down in the holler, trees all over the place, in the middle of nowhere where, if you turn the porch light off and lay on a quilt you can see a thousand stars and a few sattelites. In the back of the land there are broken down garbage trucks and ice cream trucks and a pond and two cows and a bunch of chickens and ducks and dogs all over the place.

It's the best.

So as quiet as I may be, and I'm working on the internet thing, as quiet as I may be, know that I'm having the best time ever, the best year ever.

And I wish the same for you.

Especially you in the red.

previous - next