Photobucket
2006-03-18 - 2:15 p.m.

Last night I went out with Kelly and her best friend and her best friend's boyfriend AND HER BEST FRIEND'S PARENTS.

Did you get that? Her best friend's parents. Because they also have to approve of me.
And other than a poorly chosen comment from me that ended with "I was in the bathroom crying and vomitting" directed toward their daughter, I think I did okay.

And maybe I should explain that comment, but maybe I shouldn't. I'll just leave you wondering how that could ever be an appropriate comment, ever. It was, or would have been, if I wasn't meeting parents for the first time, I'll tell you that much, and it made Kelly and Amanda laugh.

Kelly had a picture of Amanda as a little kid, like six or seven, and she showed it to me. Amanda had an unfortunate perm and a big cheeky grin and it made me laugh, so I took it. And the next time we met up with Amanda I said "oh, hey, I found a picture of me as a kid, do you want to see it?" and I pulled it out of my wallet to show her. And she gave me the meanest look ever, then turned to Kelly and said "I hate you" and then laughed.

I've since kept the picture and put it up in dashboard, right next to the spedometer.

Also, Kelly's favorite flowers are tulips. She was very subtle about telling me that, too, before we began dating. We walked into her house and she pointed at some tulips and said "those are my favorite flowers ever, in case you were wondering."

Since then, once a week I've given her a bouquet of tulips. And this is, I guess, a sign of how serious I am about her: I found myself thinking about how I could get her tulips once a week for the rest of her life, and that led me to thinking what if I die first, and that led me to thinking I need to find a florist who will send them to her after I die.

My head hurts.

previous - next