Photobucket
2006-03-17 - 11:24 a.m.

I should probably talk a little bit about the new job.

I start training Monday. I'll do a week of training at the actual facility, then three weeks at a city about an hour away. I'll have to stay there pretty much the entire week, and I'll get weekends off to come back home.

After that I've got another week of training.


I'll be working in a detention facility for males from the ages of 13 to 19. The boys there are either there for having three felonies to their name or for having been convicted of attempted murder, murder, or rape.

While in training I'll learn about cpr, first aid, all kinds of stuff like that, plus restraint techniques.

The facility I'm working at is also an accreditted high school, so I might be able to actually teach some, too, at some vague future point. If nothing else this is a way for me to get my foot in the door. I'll be able to actually be out there working with kids and maybe actually make a difference more so than, you know, selling a fridge to someone might make.

Yall keep it real, especially you in the green.

previous - next