Photobucket
2006-03-12 - 10:44 a.m.

I am scared to death of how good everything is with her.

It scares me that she picks out the right kind of spaghetti sauce. It scares me that if too much time passes she feels bad about not having baked me brownies or made me cookies. It scares me that she loves Grover as much as I do.


I want to be able to trust her, but things are moving like they moved with Amy, and that scares me. But there are so many signs that this one is different, that this is a different kind of relationship.

The way she's making me wait, for one. The way she my family already likes her a lot.

I just have to get over this being afraid of being hurt all over again. I just have to stop being scared. I have to trust someone, at some point, when they tell me they could see marrying me.

We haven't been together a month yet. Half a month, if that. And it already feels so much bigger and better than anyone before.

I want to be perfect for her, and I know I can't until I can be sure, in myself, that she's really going to be there, that when I turn 98 she'll be there smiling at me. And then we'll make out and gross out our great-grandkids.

previous - next