Photobucket
2006-03-11 - 11:29 a.m.

It just all keeps getting better.

We went out last night with my mom and my sister and her boyfriend. We ate, and she made my mom laugh, and then she said something, and I can't remember what, but I remember thinking it was perfect, and I looked over at my sister, and my sister was looking back at me and she just had this happy look on her face, like she was really, incredibly happy for me.
Like she knew I found a keeper.

I thought the way I felt with Emily was big, but this is bigger.

After we had dinner we were trying to figure out what to do, so I called Kristen, one of my best friends. I got her and her husband to come out bowling with us. I told them a story about Kelly, my favorite one yet, and Kristen started laughing and told Kelly that she was the coolest person ever.

The bowling was good. Kelly got steadily better, I got steadily worse. Then we played some pool, and apparently I have the most adorable pool face ever. Supposedly. But she's a little biased.

We went back to her house. On the way back things got kind of intense in the car and by the time we made it to her house she was pulling me down into her bedroom.
There's only so far we can go, because she's saving it for something incredibly special. And she says she already knows she wants it to be with me.

That's a lot. And I don't think I can convey to her how much that means to me, and how honored I'd be. I want it to be perfect and special and anything she could have ever imagined it to be, but it is so big and intense and much more huge than I am that it becomes scary.

I don't have the most experience in the world, and Amy kind of made fun of me for it. Amy has been around, to the point where she sometimes "remembered" more people she had been with. I've been with, before Kelly, three people. Instead of, you know, feeling special that I'm so picky about whom I'm with and choosing to be with her, Amy just wondered why I wasn't with more people in high school.

What I don't think Amy ever realized, and what I know Kelly fully understands, is that it was and is never about the quantity of partners, it's the quality.

And I've got the best one now.


I think I'm going to marry this one.

previous - next