Photobucket
2006-01-20 - 7:19 p.m.

I went out for a walk today, down at this park near my parents' house.
The path I took led back behind this giant overgrown meadow across from a school. When I was little and we would drive by the meadow and I always wanted to just walk through it. It was this big place of wilderness just smack dab between my house and the mall.
But I never did. Because I have a thing about ticks. See, the thing is I don't like them. At all.
I had gone there, once, since they tamed it all and put down a paved path to go back around the meadow and under the street to back around the school.
I had taken someone in the middle of the summer and it was really way too hot to be walking around. But we managed to get down to where the path split off into two directions, right at this little clearing near a creek.
And I went back today. It was the first time since then. I walked about two miles, alongside the creek. We'd had a good bit of rain and snow the last few weeks so the creek was fairly high.
There are places around Nashville I haven't been in a long time. Memories keeping me back, time, all kinds of reasons. I'm thinking it's time to go back. There are other parks around here I haven't been too in a while, other creeks I haven't walked by.
Graves I haven't visited.
I can't get over the feeling that this is my year. That there's so much good stuff just waiting to happen to me if I just work for it. If I take a few steps, do things I've been putting off or just completely scared and hesitant to do, then it will all work and be mind-numbingly brilliant.
Just like me, eh.

previous - next