Photobucket
2005-09-04 - 3:30 p.m.

I just got the call.
Tuesday. 8 a.m.
I'm heading to Baton Rouge.
As of right now, at least. The location could change.
I'll be there seven days. At the minimum.
Here is the truth:
I have avoided thinking about the hurricane. I have avoided the news. I have avoided looking into exactly how bad it is.
Things have gotten through, though. No filter is fine enough, unless you're just completely cut off from everything and everyone.
I don't want to know what's going on because I don't want to be disgusted with the people overturning rescue boats and shooting at helicopters and raping 14 year old girls.
I'm going down there. I don't know what's going to happen, how safe it will be.
I'm pretty sure, though, I'll go down there and realize just how little I'm actually accomplishing. I'm not helping rebuild a house. I'm not giving a thousand dollars to restart a life.
We shall see.
We shall see.


previous - next