Photobucket
2005-02-21 - 11:13 a.m.

fake:
He has started wearing ear plugs, now, all the time. It is still kind of hazy as to why. I watch him from the balcony, moving from the stair well to his car, oblivious of the dog barking or the kids on their bikes.
I passed him in the laundry room. He was coming out, I was coming in. I wanted to ask him which washers were available, I wanted to ask him how he was, but I didn't want to yell.
I caught his eye and pointed, vaguely, in a wide gesture that I was instantly embarassed of, at the line of washers. He nodded, raised three fingers, walked out.
I imagine his ears are red and tender. I imagine he has stopped sleeping on his side. He falls asleep facing the ceiling, waking to see the lines from the vertical blind stretching across the ceiling, a kind of sun dial.

previous - next